Leavin’ on a jet plane

3 05 2006

I’m about to jump on a plane and fly through the night to arrive in A Tropical Paradise. Going home for a few days to cheer Mangoman (aka My Dad) on as he gets presented with his award (yay!) and generally breathe in humid air and parental love.

I haven’t been back in somewhere between a couple and a few years and I have to admit I’m a little curious how I will find it. In a lot of ways it feels like I haven’t been away for very long at all. I can already feel my glottal stops kicking in and plosives softening in anticipation. As my mum so often said when I was growing up, “we’ll see”.

Before I go, and in case I get swallowed up by the never-never, here are some random things to do to cope with the grief:

* Listen to the Howling Bells, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah and My Latest Novel.
* Subscribe to my blog if you haven’t already. If you have, welcome. Although if I’ve vanished into the never-never it may be difficult to post.
* Give Miff a hug for me. She is lovely and has good taste in humour.
* My latest addiction is del.icio.us, a web-based bookmark manager and sharer. Play with it. Link to me. I am own all your bases etc.

I’ll let you know how the whole home town thing goes.

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 05 2006
alby

I wish I could give Miff a hug.

15 05 2006
Sherd

And I wish I could give you a hug!

Leave a Reply

