Book meme #1

28 08 2006

Book meme, thanks to Madame Boffin.

1. One book I’ve read more than once.
It by Stephen King. When I went through my Stephen King phase as a kidlet, I read this about a million times. Although it always had to sit face down when I wasn’t reading it – the cover freaked me out.

2. One book I would want on a desert island.
Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie. Intricate. Clever. Beautiful. Plenty of paper to use as kindling for the distress beacon fire.

3. One book that made me laugh.
Paperweight by Stephen Fry. Collection of articles and scripts from that wickedly dry abstinent comedian.

4. One book that made me cry.
Stay Alive My Son by Pin Yathay. I got this for Christmas when I was 10 or so. Gut-wrenchingly sad. I’d never read a first-hand account of atrocity before and it made a deep impression.

5. One book I wish I’d written.
The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy. This was the book that made me fall in love with Indian English Literature.

6. One book I wish had never been written.
Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden. Perpetuates bullshit stereotypes and myths and generally makes me all huffy. It just… I can’t… gah!

7. One book I’m currently reading.
The Wind-up Bird Chronicles by Haruki Murakami. To be closely followed by Book Three in the Song of Ice and Fire trashy fantasy series (when I find it at the liberry).

8. One book I’ve been meaning to read.
About Face by Alison Broinowski. I’ve had a complete crush on Dr Broinowski ever since she taught a course at my ivory tower. She was so clever and brilliant that I was captivated – she was even part of the reason I forsook laboratories and blundered off down the humanities path. I bought About Face in an airport somewhere, got about twenty pages into it, and never went back. I feel like I’ve let her down somehow.

9. One book that changed my life.
The Man Who Ate Everything by Jeffrey Steingarten. Although he comes across as a pompous arse at times, and has some interesting views on nutrition, Steingarten writes about food the way I like to think about food. I haven’t read it for a couple of years, but every time I pick it up it makes me want to cook and eat delicious things surrounded by a mess of talk and laughter.

10. One book that made me think.
Imagined Communities by Benedict Anderson. This is cheating a bit – I referenced ol’ Ben a fair chunk in my thesis, so by definition his book made me think. But being generally curious about the way people see culture and nation, and how those ideas disseminate across the population, I was basically an Anderson convert from the first page.

Consider yourselves tagged:
Miff
mskp
Bonestorm
nabla the slack bastard
That Guy

EDIT: Sorry bonestorm, didn’t mean to tag you twice. And nabla informs me he is far too busy to blog. So I tag Huggies and Saturday Night Fiver!

Actions

Information

7 responses

28 08 2006
MadameBoffin

I was never brave enough to read a Stephen King novel. His very name is, for me, equated with sheer terror. I never could muster the nerve even though I know that he’s a great writer. …Stay Alive My Son Oh god, even the title makes me want to bawl out crying! 😛

29 08 2006
Bonestorm

Doh! I will consider myself tagged for the first time ever. Time to get busy.I read heaps of Steven King books as a teenager, I think I attempted ‘It’but it never quite grabbed me.’The Mist’, a short story, is his best work in my opinion.

29 08 2006
MikeFitz

G’day Sherd,I, too, got tagged by the Boff. Hope you don’t mind me looking over your shoulder and comparing your intelligent answers with my geeky ones.Stephen King: I’ve given Stephen King a swerve. There’s enough horror in the real world without seeking more in books and movies. Just my 2c.Salman Rushdie: I’ve got him on my “To Read” list.Stephen Fry: He’s very funny. Loved Absolute Power. Did you catch him on Parkinson 2 weeks ago?Memoirs of a Geisha: I haven’t read this but my wife has. She loved it. In fact, she continually raves about how much research must have been done before such a book could have been written by (a) an American, and (b) a Male! We subsequently saw the movie together and were both seriously disappointed.I’m guessing that, in your opinion, more research was required.About Face: We obviously move in different circles. The “About Face” book I have on my bookshelf is About Face: The Essentials of User Interface Design by Alan Cooper.Interestingly, this is the book the tagger was reading when I copped my first book meme tag back in April.Anyhow, it’s nice to meet another Brisvegan in the blogoshpere.Cheers — Mike

29 08 2006
Saturday Night Fiver

Embarrassingly, I haven’t read a single book you’ve mentioned.

29 08 2006
Sherd

Boff, try reading “The Eyes of the Dragon” or some of the Gunslinger books. I suspect you will like them. They’re not particularly scary. bonestorm, I agree “The Mist” is very good. I don’t know that I have a favourite…MikeFitz, I have comment envy. Can you teach me to do good comment like that if I mow your lawn or something?SNF, (can I call you SNF?), me neither*!*not actually true

29 08 2006
Saturday Night Fiver

Call me Harold, call me Ernest, just don’t call me late for breakfast.

30 08 2006
MikeFitz

Hi Sherd,Good idea. I’ve just written a post called “Simple HTML for Formatting Blogger Comments”. I hope you and lots of other bloggers might find it useful as well.Re the lawnmowing, you’re in luck. There’s not much call for it while this drought continues. My grass makes this crunching sound when I walk on it.

Leave a Reply

