Crap band shock

31 08 2006

I knew this day would come. That if I saw enough live music, one day I would see a band that I disliked. Not just was apathetic about, but actually disliked.

Support for We Are Scientists was a painful example of what happens when Conservatorium boys form a band for no other reason than they can all play instruments. The musical equivalent of too many cooks. They’re a local band, which makes me sad, not least because Brisbane’s the kind of town where there’s a chance that one of them is the cousin of my cousin, or some such.

There were moments of averageness here and there, but on the whole, they were crap. Frustratingly, they don’t have to be crap. So in the spirit of having more good bands in the world and less crap ones, here’s some blunt advice from a punter for the Rocketsmiths.

1) Haircuts. Think about it. Except for the blonde guy. You just need to get over your obsession with flicking your fringe about (note: it was not an emo fringe, just a stupid one, flicked incessantly).

2) Why did you feel the need to hide your bass player behind a curtain? Was it because he didn’t have a stupid fringe? Or did he forget his vest?

3) Too many influences – you might all be very clever and talented and want to reflect the diversity of your knowledge and experience in your music, but it just comes across as muddled and confused. And ultimately, boring. I’m all for crossing genres, kids, but there are ways and means.

4) Shouting “A-ha!” at random points in the songs does not make them more interesting.

5) Your songs were too long. See point 3. You are not the Mars Volta.

6) You are also not the Living End, which you’d think might be a good thing. But in this case, it’s not. Stop dancing on top of things with your acoustic guitar.

Actions

Information

20 responses

31 08 2006
Saturday Night Fiver

What do you think about cover bands Sherdie? Good ones, obviously. I often think the world has given us enough pop music. Or is that what karaoke is for?

31 08 2006
Bonestorm

I’ve seen a lot of bad support acts in my time. These guys sound particularly bad though.Oh, and I finally got around to responding to your meme. 🙂

31 08 2006
Sherd

snf, are you referring to pop music cover bands or cover bands of all types of music? I like covers in general – reinterpretations of music can be really interesting, and I think some covers can be better than the original song (thinking of Frente’s Bizarre Love Triangle amongst others). But I have to admit that I’ve never actually seen a real cover band, as such, except for the dudes that play other people’s songs down at the local dodgy pub on a Friday night. What do you think? Do you know some good cover bands? Do they always have amusing names or is that just the bad ones?Karaoke – with the right people, in the right frame of mind, is brilliant. In a booth, mind. I don’t sing in front of strangers. And I have time for crap pop songs at karaoke that I would hate in any other situation, so maybe pop music should be specifically for karaoke. Or vice versa. bonestorm, it’s quite difficult to get me to dislike a live band. Meh, maybe they (or I) were having an off night.

1 09 2006
Saturday Night Fiver

I think specifically pop music (although the other point I made about there being “enough” music still stands). The thing about live music is that every time a song is played it’s “reinterpreted”, even when the musicians aim at a straight cover. Part of me thinks: “that old song deserved a longer life”; I suppose I don’t put much faith in novelty (or contemporariness) as an aesthetic virtue.I don’t actually know of any decent cover bands; I just think I’d be thrilled to suddenly hear “Don’t Get Me Wrong” emerging from a source other than my ipod (dodgy pubs excluded). As you must know, “living” music has a different social value than a stack of CDs … the difference between a museum and a rugby final. An amusing name must be part of the charm I suppose …Bizarre Love Triangle a la Frente must be quite something.

1 09 2006
GigPig

You’ve never heard Frente’s Bizarre Love Triangle?! You need to ammend this oversight immediately!!

1 09 2006
nabla

I must comment on the band, after all that digression, and put to the Sherdie Council, resolution No 1443 – immediate sanctions on piano in rock. I realise this may be controversial, but then, as a permanent member of the Sherdie Council, I don’t care. The Whitlams only saving grace is an admirable name, Ben Folds needs his Five, Elton John and the Scissor Sisters are not rock and thus are exempt, and Billy Joel…well, nuff said.The piano

1 09 2006
GigPig

Dude, this is clearly not the first time you have found yourself in front of someone who sucks. Exhibit A: the Night of a Thousand Back Yard Metal Bands, supporting In/After the Grey/Fall. Exhibit B: the Night of a Thousand Back Yard Metal Bands #2, supporting Magic Dirt.

1 09 2006
Sherd

That’s true, but I didn’t particularly dislike them. And you know I secretly find metal bands quite hilarious/loud. So it wasn’t just the crapness, it was also the dislike. I mean, really, how often do I take an instant dislike to people?* Especially people playing instruments in a young and carefree fashion?* please don’t mention NYE 04 (or whenever it was. You know the one I’m talking about).

1 09 2006
Sherd

By the way, snf, you think there’s enough music in the world? I am intrigued. Not in agreement, but definitely curious about your argument there.

1 09 2006
GigPig

Exhibit C: the Sunshine Setting Over the Clouds (or some such similarly wanky-named people) that we the support for Faker at the Greenroom. They were attrocious, as well as wankers. And their poster was almost as tragic as their songs. PS Re: NYE 04- HEHEHEHE. HEHE.

1 09 2006
GigPig

Oops. Typo.

1 09 2006
Sherd

Jeez, woman, have you heard of artistic license?The Dawn Collective, I do believe that was. Working hard this afternoon, dear?

1 09 2006
GigPig

My extreme apologies to any budding musicians out there who have decided to call their act ‘Sunshine Setting Over the Clouds’. I have not, in fact, seen you and can not judge whether you suck or not. You might, however, want to come up with another name. That one is attrocious.

1 09 2006
GigPig

And this might be the most constructive Friday afternoon I have ever had. So ner.

2 09 2006
Saturday Night Fiver

Dear Sherdie,I posted a concise argument “in favour of the proposition that there is too much music.”I welcome your rebuttal.

4 09 2006
That Guy

…yeah, bloody music school types, what’s the good of em eh?!…….hee hee! love the reviews, keep em comin…….Didjya come out all right with the ‘conclusion’ we messaged about?….

2 10 2006
Anonymous

You don’t know shit. The Rocketsmiths played an awesome set. You should be ashamed of yourself – call yourself a music lover…

2 10 2006
nabla

Raw nerve, mate?A band review is precisely that – a review. Sherd was a touch harsh, I’ll grant you, mainly for comic effect. Perhaps a touch personal so, slap on the wrist for that, Sherd.The fact remains, however, that it’s her opinion. Not being a music school type, not really knowing, or even bloody caring what a quaver, a pentatonic scale or a rest is, does not disqualify you as a music reveiwer. There’s a time and a place for overblown self indulgence and posturing – and at the Zoo supporting a rock band is not it.I went.I watched.I agree.PS. Have the guts to sign your name – Sherd does.

7 10 2006
Anonymous

Okay, so I may have been a little rude and personal, but I think it works both ways. I mean, you give advice on how they “don’t have to be crap” by commenting on their HAIRCUTS? Are we seriously that superficial that a bad haircut or not seeing the bass player will spoil the night for you? Stick to the music. Please! (Meanwhile, from my vantage point, I could see the bass player just fine!)I think they have a good range of influences. Personally, I hate bands where all songs sound exactly the same. I may as well save the money and buy one single and play that twenty times. The Rocketsmiths have variety.I don’t find the songs too long, but I suppose if you weren’t enjoying it, it would seem that way.Just because you have become apathetic towards the Living End, doesn’t mean that it should taint your view on other bands who play with energy.I don’t even know what the a-ha point is about.I’m interested to hear your thoughts about the Rocketsmiths at valley fiesta if you went. If you still don’t like them after that, then there’s no helping you. I’ll just rule it out as age differences and call it a day.Anne

9 10 2006
Sherd

Anne, I’m chuffed that you came back, and left your name. I think it’s nice that you enjoyed the Rocketsmiths. I think you make a good point about the haircuts thing, but as someone or other once said, being a performer means that people will judge you on your appearance, and I stand by my comment. I could go through your reply and address each point, but to be honest, I think it’s best to agree to disagree on this. I didn’t get around to seeing them at the Valley Fiesta because I was too stuffed from the Regurgitator gig the night before. There probably is no helping me and my apathy, at my advanced age, dare say it’s best to give it up as a lost cause.

Leave a Reply

