Yes, I am a fucking hippie

18 06 2007

So, new hair, generally positive reactions. Hooray. I’ve discovered that any shred of self-confidence I have evaporates in the face of discussions about my personal appearance. I blushed a lot today. A. Lot.

Anyway, enough about me, let’s talk about me now.

Here’s this thing I saw somewhere. I can’t decide how I feel about it. Ladeez and gennlemen, I present: the electric compost maker. Yes, I am not kidding.
Look, here’s a pretty picture to show you how it works…


I’m intrigued by the reactor and the computer, although it does put me in mind of that ridiculous Dove ad where the highly scientific tiny blue beads cure cancer and then go on a mission to Mars (or something, because that’s science, ya know).

Anyway, I’m torn. You all know how I feel about compost. It’s A Good Thing. People sometimes don’t want to do it because it’s stinky, or they don’t have the room or the inclination. This solves many of those problems, potentially encouraging people who otherwise wouldn’t (and who have a spare few hundred bucks or so) to divert their organic waste from the general waste stream, and to turn that organic waste into a resource. See? Good Thing.

It weirds me out because I think compost should look more like the Fraggle Rock version

…and the idea of a machine for composting seems the antithesis of the organic nature of the process itself. But, thinking about it, we have machines for all sorts of other things, with far less benefit to the world. I myself have two small pieces of metal that heat up and iron my hair straight. That’s pretty random and useless. And really, having a machine that overcomes many of the objections people have to composting is not in the same league as, say, a plug-in watering can to oxygenate the water for your indoor plants.

So, I guess I come down on the side of good with this one.

Still kinda weird though. I think I’ll stick to my worm farm for now.

Actions

Information

7 responses

18 06 2007
lil shaz

was intrigued until i got to the ‘a spare few hundred bucks’ part and then i switched off. it’s a grand idea but smacks of daylight robbery.and i’ll have you know that money from the sale of those little blue beads goes today’s a self-esteem program run by dove. which is a good thing.i know this because i did an assignment on dove.back to study…

18 06 2007
IHateToast

mayhaps it’s for unit dwellers. mayhaps.

18 06 2007
MikeFitz

I can hear my mum now… “…but will it attract vermin?”

19 06 2007
ihatetoast

yeah, good point made by mikefitz. will it attract nabla?

19 06 2007
K

You’re not a hippy, you’re a yippy! You never smell anything like patchouli (a word that has more letters than it needs, might I add), more like Kenzo normally.

19 06 2007
Nabla

I second the yippie comment.A formal compost in general is silly, I reckon. Your garden should be bushy enough that you can just randomly throw stuff in it – much as we did when we were kids.Then the vermin are more evenly spread.

20 06 2007
mangoman

What is a yippy? Think she probably is one though.That was ‘sheet composting’ Nabla. Your mum got it from a Grass Roots mag I think. The vermin attracted were those little swamp rats and I relocated them to that new subdivision. Except for the one that somehow made it into the ac system of the govts commodore.Did a good job on the garden though.

Leave a Reply

