A weekend in the country

18 10 2009

The Architect and I just got back from a weekend at the races up in the Country.

Since Japan I decided I might cut back on alcohol to, well, none. Why? To see if I could, because it felt right, and a dash of wanting a different first impulse than to reach for a drink when tired or stressed or celebrating. It’s been largely successful, with three small backslides: one nip of honey flavoured plum wine (wouldn’t you?), half a glass of champagne to celebrate the end of some awfulness and a beer with the clever and delightful Genderses family when they were moseying through Brisvegas last week.

The wagon is going to take me all the way to the end of November, with two pre-planned fall-offs (as well as the backslides) on the rationale that I’d pre-booked them before I’d been so rash as to set myself a ten week dry spell. One of the fall-offs was this weekend, because if living in Queensland has taught me anything it’s that you can’t go to a country races and stay sober. Case in point – I went to the bar to buy water. Came back with a beer. They were out of water.

Oh well. There’s water in beer.

That’s science.

Anyway. I talked, laughed, sang, pointed out constellations, danced, sunk two pool balls in a row with dumb luck pretending to be skill, lost my volume control (according to the Architect), hugged people, inflicted numerous PDAs on the Architect, told outrageous fibs and fell into a smudgy-eyed snoring heap some time after midnight.

It was a lot of fun. Doesn’t help what I thought was an attempt to break the connection between drinking and having a lot of fun, but after some thought, I’ve decided it’s about moderation and control, not abstinence for the sake of some twisted idea of virtue.

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 10 2009
the duck herder

yes, SCIENCE will save you every time. Races sound fab, I am SURE you were as cute as a button the WHOLE TIME, and honey flavoured plum wine…..well yes, of COURSE I would. love you!

22 10 2009
slowfeet

But you have proven that you can leave it alone for weeks at a time. So does it qualify as a crutch?

Leave a Reply

