Lentil and cauliflower pilaf

1 10 2010

Well. From super rich to super… well, cheap and healthy, I suppose. The other half of the cauliflower went into the lentil and cauliflower pilaf.

Controversially, this recipe uses basmati rice. I’m very much a short-to-medium grain girl and I was tempted to make it with medium grain because a) I’m lazy and b) I’m lazy. But I persevered and it was probably for the best. The basmati suits the dish much better than medium grain would.

Now, because I’m forgetful as well as lazy, I forgot that I had no korma curry paste until I went to make this. So I bodged one up from spices. See?

Then I cooked up some lentils, threw it all together and out came the most beige meal I’ve ever made.

It smelt good. It tasted good, if a little salty. It just looked sad and colourless. Especially without the fresh coriander on top (a) lazy and b) forgetful = forgot to buy it and then couldn’t be bothered making a separate trip. Also the Architect isn’t such a fan).

So I cooked up a… let’s be kind and call it a ragout, with red capsicum, zucchini, beetroot greens and rocket, and bunged it on top. As well as a hefty dollop of mango chutney, later followed by tamarind chutney. Made it look a bit more presentable and added a bit more interest. The sweetness from the chutney is definitely needed to balance the flavour of the pilaf.

Verdict? Not bad, but next time I might add a few more things for interest, and halve the salt. In any case I’ve still got half a bag of basmati rice in the cupboard to use up…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

