Chinese chopsticks

19 12 2010

I need to tell you about how much Chinese chopsticks annoy me. You know the ones. The square (square!) plastic ones that you get a Chinese restaurants. They’re long, and clunky, and square (square!) with almost no tapering at all. Useless for picking up food with. For me, anyway.

Give me some nice, tapered, usable Japanese chopsticks any day.

(And don’t even get me started on trying to use Korean ones. That is a skill I am yet to acquire) (And probably never will.)

Having said all that, I have to also say that my household will never be without a pair or two of Chinese chopsticks. Madness, I hear you shout. But wait. Let me list the things Chinese chopsticks are useful for.

1. Mixing up milk powder, yogurt and water to make yogurt. Something about the squareness works really well to get the powder off the container sides .

2. Getting the lid off the toilet cistern. It has a little plug thing in each side you have to push in and the Chinese chopstick is the perfect shape.

3. Propping up the float arm of the toilet cistern thingo so it will stop thinking it’s filling when it’s not, or to stop it filling constantly when the other thingo’s developed a little leak.

4. Emergency plant stake for smaller plants.

5. Amusing small children by making a ‘wobbly’ chopstick.

Anything I forgot?

By the way, if you want to see the most comprehensive article on different types of chopsticks, check out this post.

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 12 2010
klaire

What about opening your microwave!

20 12 2010
sherdie

Oh yeah, that too!

Leave a Reply

